Astrology is as complicated as you make it. That's not to say we make it complicated without reason. It just means you don't have to understand the advanced techniques and nuances of interpretation to use astrology. It's a bit like math, if you are filing long form taxes or running a company you need advanced book-keeping skills. If you know basic math you can balance a checkbook.

The most basic elements of astrology are planets, signs, houses, and aspects. The houses are divisions of a chart while signs are divisions of the Zodiac. Each house is associated with a sign, and they have the same ruling planet. For example, Aries (the first sign) is related to the first house, and both are naturally ruled by Mars. The signs represent a type of energy and method of operation whereas the houses represent a part of yourself or life.

For example (among other things) Aries represents a tendency toward assertiveness and the urge to begin things while the first house shows how you go about asserting yourself, and new beginnings themselves.

If your first house falls in Virgo, you may approach new things (first house) with caution and precision (Virgo), stating your case calmly and clearly with facts to back it up (Virgo) when challenged (first house).

The planets fall within signs/houses, telling us where and how they operate. The aspects explain how it’s all connected and where the strongest connections are.

To learn more about the meanings of individual houses, signs, planets and aspects and what role each of these play in an astrological chart, explore the links below.




Sun Moon Mercury Venus Mars

Jupiter Saturn Uranus Neptune Pluto



Aries  Taurus  Gemini  Cancer

 Leo  Virgo  Libra  Scorpio

 Sagittarius Capricorn Aquarius Pisces



Chiron Ceres Juno Pallas Vesta



Get Your Free Birth Chart 
Click Here